Sign in

username:

password:



Not a member?

Search oopic



Search tips

Subscribe to oopic



Ads

Discussion Groups

Discussion Groups | | Re: Re: Savage Innovations Website ***web host is currently fixing***

Re: Re: Savage Innovations Website ***web host is currently fixing*** - "...@ - Jun 25 18:39:01 2008

Mostly the redirect to the 3pigs domain, but I encountered a file with a Sophos worm seconds after clicking on the "Ordering" link at OOPIC.com. Files infected include notepad32.exe (multiple copies), a task called CSSRSS.exe which deletes itself as soon as it loads. Only way to kill this one was in safe-mode, finding the file and deleting. All in all a terrible experience and a complete waste of 12 hours. I went ahead and ordered what I need from botshop and sparkfun. I'll let someone else determine when to sound the all clear on savageinnovations.com. Oh well, at least I got an antivirus suite now.
-Will

----- Original Message -----
From: jesicaflow
To: o...@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Wednesday, June 25, 2008 1:56 PM
Subject: [oopic] Re: Savage Innovations Website ***web host is currently fixing***
yep, i called it. web host is fixing as we speak.

--- In o...@yahoogroups.com, "jesicaflow" wrote:
>
> Not sure what we mean by "it looks hacked". If anyone could let me
> know what they're seeing, that'd be great.
>
> It seems as though the web host's DNS servers were compromised...I
> have noticed a couple of times that pages are forwarding to another
> site. Is anyone seeing other issues?
>
>
>
>
> --- In o...@yahoogroups.com, "jasuk1970" wrote:
> >
> > --- In o...@yahoogroups.com, "@@" wrote:
> > >
> > > Is is just me or is the Savage Innovations Website load with
> spyware??
> > >
> > > I went there last thursday, by using the ordering link on
> > www.oopic.com and it's taken me this long to rid my PC of all the
> crap
> > it loaded. I just went there again and between the sales site
and
> the
> > forum my new antivirus posted 9 spyware warnings.
> > >
> > > Scott, what's the deal, do you not want to sell any more
product??
> > >
> > > After this experience, maybe I'll just go to a different
platform.
> > >
> > > [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
> > >
> > It does look very hacked, the oobug site also tries to install
> viruses
> > on your PC. Do not use your credit card details on any of these
> sites
> > until they fix it.
> >
> > I've posted a message on their OOBug forum in hopes they see it.
> >
> > Jas
> >
>

[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
------------------------------------



(You need to be a member of oopic -- send a blank email to oopic-subscribe@yahoogroups.com )


Re: Re: Savage Innovations Website ***web host is currently fixing*** - ooPIC Tech Support - Jun 27 1:02:47 2008

He knows about it now and is working on fixing it - An 'all clear"
should be forth coming when it's repaired.

DLC

@@ wrote:
> Mostly the redirect to the 3pigs domain, but I encountered a file with a Sophos worm seconds after clicking on the "Ordering" link at OOPIC.com. Files infected include notepad32.exe (multiple copies), a task called CSSRSS.exe which deletes itself as soon as it loads. Only way to kill this one was in safe-mode, finding the file and deleting. All in all a terrible experience and a complete waste of 12 hours. I went ahead and ordered what I need from botshop and sparkfun. I'll let someone else determine when to sound the all clear on savageinnovations.com. Oh well, at least I got an antivirus suite now.
> -Will
>
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: jesicaflow
> To: o...@yahoogroups.com
> Sent: Wednesday, June 25, 2008 1:56 PM
> Subject: [oopic] Re: Savage Innovations Website ***web host is currently fixing***
> yep, i called it. web host is fixing as we speak.
>
> --- In o...@yahoogroups.com, "jesicaflow" wrote:
> >
> > Not sure what we mean by "it looks hacked". If anyone could let me
> > know what they're seeing, that'd be great.
> >
> > It seems as though the web host's DNS servers were compromised...I
> > have noticed a couple of times that pages are forwarding to another
> > site. Is anyone seeing other issues?
> >
> >
> >
> >
> > --- In o...@yahoogroups.com, "jasuk1970" wrote:
> > >
> > > --- In o...@yahoogroups.com, "@@" wrote:
> > > >
> > > > Is is just me or is the Savage Innovations Website load with
> > spyware??
> > > >
> > > > I went there last thursday, by using the ordering link on
> > > www.oopic.com and it's taken me this long to rid my PC of all the
> > crap
> > > it loaded. I just went there again and between the sales site
> and
> > the
> > > forum my new antivirus posted 9 spyware warnings.
> > > >
> > > > Scott, what's the deal, do you not want to sell any more
> product??
> > > >
> > > > After this experience, maybe I'll just go to a different
> platform.
> > > >
> > > > [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
> > > >
> > > It does look very hacked, the oobug site also tries to install
> > viruses
> > > on your PC. Do not use your credit card details on any of these
> > sites
> > > until they fix it.
> > >
> > > I've posted a message on their OOBug forum in hopes they see it.
> > >
> > > Jas
> > >
> >
>
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
> ------------------------------------



(You need to be a member of oopic -- send a blank email to oopic-subscribe@yahoogroups.com )